Classical music
from Flanders


Annelies Van Parys

An online special by:

Annelies Van Parys studied composition at the Conservatory in Ghent with Luc Brewaeys. Her work has been performed by different Belgian ensembles, including Ictus, Nadar, Spectra and Oxalys, and ensembles abroad, including Société de Musique contemporaine du Québec, Cantus Ansamble (Zagreb) and New York New Music Ensemble. For Van Parys not so much the exploration of sound as such is important, but rather the sensations that the sound effects create. In addition to chamber music and orchestral works Van Parys shows a special talent for composing for voice. This is reflected in the voice solo Poïèma (2006), with mezzo Els Mondelaers. Ruhe (2007), commissioned by Collegium Vocale Ghent for the eponymous music theatre work was Van Parys' first step toward music theatre. An Index of Memories (2009 – Muziektheater Transparant), Parcours (2011 – ChampdAction) and An Oresteia (2010 – Transparant) followed. Upcoming projects include And You Must Suffer and Dagboek van een verdwenene.

Close menu