Classical music
from Flanders


Flanders Symphony Orchestra

An online special by:

With its 60 musicians, Flanders Symphony Orchestra is the smallest of Belgium’s major orchestras. Its repertoire ranges from classicism to contemporary music, from the great symphonic repertoire to lesser-known works, particularly of the 19th and 20th centuries.

The orchestra also pursues an active commission policy, contributing to the accomplishment and the development of a contemporary repertoire. Every year, several Flemish composers are invited to write new compositions. The Flanders Symphony Orchestra has a number of operating bases throughout Flanders, each season hosting a series of concerts: Brussels, Antwerp, Bruges and Ghent. Chief conductor is Jan Latham-Koenig. David Angus is its honorary conductor.

Close menu