Classical music
from Flanders

Early Music

Huelgas Ensemble

An online special by:

Since its foundation in 1971 by Paul Van Nevel, the Huelgas Ensemble has been one of the most celebrated ensembles specialising in the performance of polyphonic music from the Middle Ages and Renaissance.

The ensemble is known worldwide for its inventive programming, particularly of unknown masterpieces. The name refers to the Spanish Cistercian monastery near Burgos. Performances by the Huelgas Ensemble are characterized by a deep knowledge of the aesthetics and concepts of musical and vocal practices of the period. The ensemble has been praised for its lively and innovative approach to the repertoire.

Huelgas Ensemble also worked with contemporary composers such as Wolfgang Rihm and James MacMillan. The group’s more than one hundred recordings have received numerous awards.

© Guy Verstraete


Close menu