Classical music
from Flanders

Music Organizers

La Monnaie / De Munt

An online special by:

Since its foundation in 1772, the La Monnaie Orchestra has always been closely involved in the opera house’s productions. Contemporary music figures prominently in the orchestra’s repertoire and it has collaborated, at times in first performances, with many composers, including Adams, Berio, Boesmans, Boulez, Defoort, Dusapin, Francesconi, Hosokawa, Maderna, Penderecki, Rihm, and Sciarrino.

The orchestra’s dynamism and versatility have made a huge contribution to La Monnaie’s artistic identity. Their impact has grown as broadcasts of opera productions on television and radio, as well as Internet streaming, have increasingly brought the orchestra to the attention of music-lovers all over the world. Its prestige is reflected in an extensive and ever-growing discography.

Sincy January 2016, Alain Altinoglu has been Music Director of the La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra. The La Monnaie Chorus, which plays a vital part in the opera productions at La Monnaie, has been led by Martino Faggiani since 2012.


Close menu